Celebrating the best of our NHS

Our National Health Service turns 70 on July 5 this year, and despite determined efforts by some to see it retired, Labour’s proudest achievement is still going strong.NHS-RGB (2)

Thanks to its staff and the taxpayers who fund it, the NHS protects us all every day.

There have been amazing advances in science, technology, information and medical understanding over the last seven decades, but one element in the NHS success story has remained constant: the people who work in it and support the delivery of its services every day.

I’m really pleased to be taking part in the NHS70 Parliamentary Awards to thank those staff and to recognise some of the great services they deliver.

Over the last 70 years, the NHS has worked with local communities, councils and the voluntary sector to transform the health and wellbeing of the nation. We can all expect to live longer lives thanks in large part to our NHS.

I know from meeting and listening to people across Liverpool Wavertree that there are some excellent and innovative services on our doorstep that are among the best in the country. The NHS70 Parliamentary Awards are designed to recognise the best across the nation.

There are nine categories:

  • Excellence in Mental Health Care Award
  • Excellence in Cancer Care Award
  • Excellence in Urgent and Emergency Care Award
  • Excellence in Primary Care Award
  • Person-Centred Care Champion Award
  • Future NHS Award
  • Healthier Communities Award
  • Care and Compassion Award
  • Patient and Public Involvement Award

And there is a special Lifetime Achievement award for someone who has contributed to the success of the NHS for 40 years or more.

I am asking for your help in identifying the services locally that deserve that national recognition. I can only make one nomination in each category and the NHS judges will then decide a national shortlist and pick a winner.

To access the nominate form, please click here, but hurry, the deadline is Friday March 23.